• Welcome to Remington R-51 Pistol Forum. Please log in or sign up.

Why I Bought an R51

Started by Norton Rider, December 29, 2017, 08:30:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Norton Rider

I'm a retired engineering manager and have always been fascinated with ingenious mechanisms.  I like the way the Pedersen action works and have been interested in R51s since they first came out.  Recently Remington offered a $100 rebate.  The rebate, combined with my points at Cabela's, brought the price down to $100.  How could I not buy a cool gun for $100?!

I have a number of firearms.  I often carry a Taurus TCP in a pocket holster, but I wanted a carry gun with a harder hitting caliber.  Once broken-in I'm hoping that the R51 is reliable enough to be a carry gun.  Incidentally, my favorite handguns in my collection are a Remington R1, CZ 75BD, and a first gen S&W 66.

Chokejug

I too have numerous hand guns, always been a gun nut, 75 plus years now.  2 CZs, 2 Kahrs, 4 Rugers, (both revolvers and autos), S&W, Boberg, 1911 type RIA combo .22 TCM/9mm, etc, etc.

Right now I have put the Rem RM380 up and am carrying two R51s.  One IWB, the other in an oppsite side pocket holster.
Simplifies the ammo/magazine problems.

The Boberg is a X9L and is for sale if anyone is interested.  Have not had even a hint of a problem with it, perfect, other that it and my crooked, arthritic trigger finger dont get along.

johnnysR51